Wk 4 – Artist Conversations – Samuel Jernigan

use the form:
Wk 4 – Artist Conversation – Samuel Jernigan

Exhibition Information

Artist: Samuel Jernigan
Exhibition: Weight of Whimsy and Ideals
Media: Ceramics, Glass, Mixed-Media, Installation
Gallery: CSULB School of Art, Gatov Gallery West
Website: cargocollective.com/samueljernigan
Instagram: @samuel_jenri

About the Artist

Samuel Jernigan is from the Bay Area. He started working because of the jobs he got with the materials. He likes comic books, he likes to binge watch cartoons, he likes to ride his bicycle.

Formal Analysis

The textures we all very smooth and neutral colors. Except for a couple of pieces most of them were a nice wood or white color. Even the rainbow colored pieces were very calming and smooth. The pieces were centered around cartoons which gave the pieces a very smooth, roundish look.

Content Analysis

Some of the pieces were interchangeable with the bust piece. This made the bust which is traditionally meant for a specific person was interchangeable making the piece very unique. I think the artist was saying how we all like to see ourselves in everything we look at whether it be our dreams and goals or our downfalls. We as human beings like to relate and connect ourselves to everything we see.

Synthesis / My Experience

This exhibit helped me realize some things about the way I am and the way I see things. After seeing it and thinking about human nature. How we connect ourselves to the world around us. I noticed that I try to connect myself to anything I can even at a subconscious level. If somebody is talking to me about something I like to connect myself to that specific thing or activity. I realized I did this a lot and afterwards I saw that everyone else does it too. We are all just ultimately trying to connect to one another.

Leave a Reply

