Wk 10 – Artist Conversation – Helen Werner Cox

Exhibition Information

Artist: Helen Werner Cox
Exhibition: Silent Screams
Media: Oil Pastels, Markers, Wood, Crayons.
Gallery: CSULB School of Art, Gatov Gallery West
Website: Does not have one 
Instagram: Does not have one

About the Artist

Helen Werner Cox is obtaining her Masters in Fine Arts and this is her last year as a graduate student. She is specializing in Painting and Drawing. She is originally from New York in the city Ithaca. After graduating her undergraduate degree she taught art for thirty years. Along her job as an educator she has always been able to follow her creative side.

Formal Analysis

The drawing, models and paintings are of horses. They are all very realistic and detailed. In the Model is a half horse half human. The painting portrays the horses in a carousal. Another drawing is black and white with light pencil that is very detailed throughout the whole drawing of the Eagle like animal.

Content Analysis

These pieces are I think pulling a chord when it comes to protecting animals and how people see animals. How humans treat animals and portray them in everyday life. The contrast to how we would treat a mythical creature an everyday horse is ironic because they are both the same thing, majestic animals. This makes it ironic because we see the contradiction in our thinking.

Synthesis / My Experience

To me this exhibit t me made me see some stupidity in my own thinking cause what I just addressed in the paragraph above I also thought when I initially saw the pieces. You see the horse in the carousal and see our stupidity in our way of thinking. After seeing this exhibit I wanted to go home and play with my adorable dogs.

Leave a Reply

